top of page

10 Ways To Develop Your Resourcefulness


As my last entry mentioned we are all more resourceful than we give ourselves credit for. The key is to become more aware of what resources we have and develop ways to increase our creativity in the way those resources are use. How do we do this? Good question and its one I have oft asked myself.

1. Start With An Open Mind.

Start off with a positive mindset. Redefining what is possible for you. Tell yourself:

YES I CAN DO THIS!

This will open you up to possibilities you may not have seen if you were in a negative thinking pattern.

2. Take inventory

Keep track of what we resources we have available to ourselves right now. Write the list out in a notebook. Add any additional resources we think of along the way. Just the act of writing down what we do have can spark ideas right away.

3. Do Your Research.

If you do not currently have the necessary resources spend some time researching your options. Often there are free or inexpensive alternatives to those resources that are currently inaccessible to you.

4. Ask Questions.

Ask what if questions:

*Is there any other way to get what I need?

* Is what you want really what you need?

* Who else has information that might help you?

* What is something very similar that could work too?

* Who is the local expert in this topic?

* What is one more thing I can try?

* What would someone I admire do in this situation?

5. Build Your Network.

Not everything can be done on your own. Ask others to help you and help others when they need it. This not only builds a strong network where you can go for answers and support but it builds up friendships and the community as a whole.

6. Brainstorm Your Possibilities.

List any and all options you have for your current project. Keep a bulleted list handy and add to it as inspiration comes to you.

7. Start Taking Action.

Resourcefulness and action go hand in hand. All the possibilities in the work will do no good unless we start to put them to the test by actually using them.

8. Keep Your Options Open.

Find and put to the test several solutions for the same need. That way in case one option falls through you have a backup plan.

9. Seize The Day!

If a new opportunity appears act upon it immediately. Test it out you never know where next option may come from.

10. Keep Yourself Motivated.

Resourcefulness is a mindset. It is very helpful to motivate yourself with positive affirmations and positive self-talk. A wonderful example of an affirmation can be found on Joany Edwards site

Yes I am resourceful! I turn challenges into advantages. I ask questions. I look for answers in many places. I learn from my experiences of others. I am creative. I gather useful information. I organize information. I share information with others. I plan my daily activities. I choose actions that solve problems.

Sources:

* lifehack.org

* wikihow.com

* Inc.com

* danielbranch.com

* tonyrobbins.com

* wikipedia.com

* joanyedwards.wordpress.com

Save

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page